Misdemeanors, Call Us Today 956-994-8072
Misdemeanors in Texas are crimes punishable by up to one year in local or county jail. Misdemeanors are categorized as Class A, B, or C. (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.03.)
A Misdemeanor is a less serious (less serious than a Felony) criminal offense for which you can be fined $4,000 or less and be sentenced to county jail for up to one year. You do not lose any civil rights for a misdemeanor conviction. Misdemeanors include simple assault, Theft and DWI, first or second offense.
There are three classes of misdemeanor – A. B and C.
|Class A||Not more than 1 year in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than
|Class B||Not more than 180 days in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than
|Class C||A fine of not more than $500|
The Texas Penal Code sets broad sentencing guidelines for each class and degree of criminal charge. Exact sentences are generally up to the discretion of the judge, with recommendations from the prosecutor and, in certain cases, from the jury.
If your freedom or your loved one’s freedom is at stake because they are charged with a misdemeanor criminal offense, we are just a phone call away from standing between you and the State of Texas. We will be there from the arrest to the full and final resolution of the case.
If you have been accused of a crime – from Shoplifting to Assault to DWI – you can depend on Genaro Fraustro, McAllen, Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer for experienced legal representation and personal service. With his experience and successes, his commitment, and passion for justice makes him a prudent and obvious choice when you’re facing a Texas Criminal Misdemeanor Charge.
For a free legal consultation, please call (956) 994-8072, to schedule an appointment to visit with Criminal Defense Lawyer Genaro Fraustro.