Experienced At Trial, Effective In Negotiations

Call Today for free consultation: (956) 994-8072

Criminal Defense & Personal Injury Attorneys Law Office of Genaro Fraustro

Looking Out For Your Best Interests

Offering Experienced Services in Criminal Defense and Personal Injury


DUI's/DWI

CALL TODAY FOR FREE CONSULTATION: (956) 994-8072

Felonies

CALL TODAY FOR FREE CONSULTATION: (956) 994-8072

Misdemeanor

CALL TODAY FOR FREE CONSULTATION: (956) 994-8072



Felonies / 3G Offenses

Felonies / 3G Offenses, Call Us Today 956-994-8072

Felony Charges – What is a Felony in the State of Texas?

According to the Texas Penal Code, a felony offense is a serious criminal offense for which you could be fined up to $10,000.00. It is a criminal offense that is regarded being more serious than a misdemeanor and is punishable by time in a Texas State Jail facility or in the Texas Penitentiary (the “institutional division”) for a period of 6 months to years and in some cases, Life.  Felonies range from State Jail Felonies to Capital Felonies in Texas.

You also may lose your right to vote, have a gun or obtain certain state occupational licenses. Felonies include but are not limited to: Aggravated Assault, Burglary and DWI  (third offense), Murder, Rape, Drug Possession, and many other offenses.

If your freedom or your loved one’s freedom is at stake because they are charged with a felony criminal offense, we are just a phone call away from standing between you and the State of Texas. We will be there from the beginning to the full and final resolution of the case. Everything from your initial appearance to parole revocation hearings.  If you have been accused of a crime – from drug possession to aggravated assault to DWI repetition – you can depend on Genaro Fraustro, McAllen, Texas Criminal Defense, Lawyer, for experienced legal representation and personal service.  He will fight for your Rights and Freedom.

Felony Penalties for Criminal Charges in Texas

FELONY PENALTY
Capital Death or life in prison without parole
First-degree 5 to 99 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
Second-degree 2 to 20 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
Third-degree 2 to 10 years in a state prison and/or a fine of not more than $10,000
State jail 180 days to 2 years in a state jail and/or a fine of not more than
$10,000

Serious Felonies/3G Offenses

In Texas criminal cases, the term “3G” is used to indicate that a particular crime is very serious. A 3G offense is a special category of felony offense in Texas that requires a person serve at least half their prison sentence before being eligible to apply for parole.  3G Offenses are considered to be the most serious or violent and to which additional sentencing consequences apply. Even though “3G” is often used as a general term in Texas to indicate that a crime is treated seriously, the term “3G” has a very specific meaning in Texas law.  The term “3G” comes from the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure in section 42.12.  Subsection 3G.
    
Some of the crimes listed in Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 42.12 (3) (g) are:
    
1.    Capital Murder,
2.    Murder,
3.    Indecency with a Child by Contact,
4.    Aggravated Kidnapping,
5.    Aggravated Sexual Assault,
6.    Aggravated Robbery,
7.    Sexual Assault,
8.    Injury to a Child, if the offense is punishable as a felony of the first degree
9.    Injury to an Elderly Person, , if the offense is punishable as a felony of the first degree
10.    Injury to a Disabled Individual, , if the offense is punishable as a felony of the first degree
11.    Sexual Performance by a Child,
12.    Criminal Solicitation , if the offense is punishable as a felony of the first degree
13.    Any Crime were a Deadly Weapon was used During, Before or After the Offense
14.    Drug case where a child is used in the commission of the offense, or the offense took place within 1,000 feet of a school or on a school bus.

Probation Eligibility is limited

 
Anyone that is charged with a “3G” offense should be aware that there are certain restrictions on what a judge or prosecutor can do.  For example, a person that is charged with a “3G” offense cannot receive probation from a judge as part of a plea bargain.  They can, however, receive deferred adjudication from a judge or probation from a jury after a guilty verdict in a jury trial.  Anyone that is charged with a “3G” offense must be aware of the effect of the “3G” designation on their case.
    
Parole Eligibility is Delayed

 
Also, a person that is convicted of a “3G” offense and sent to prison must serve at least 1/2 of their sentence or 30 years, whichever is less.  In the rare case where a person is convicted of a “3G” offense receives a sentence of less than 4 years, they still are not eligible for parole until after serving 2 years.
        
What to do if you are charged with a 3G Offense

For a free legal consultation and representation, please call (956) 994-8072, to schedule an appointment to visit with Criminal Defense lawyer Genaro Fraustro.  I will discuss and explain your 3G Offense options with you.

Feel Free To Contact Us